Forums

Scaling / Behaviour once number of users exceeds number of web workers

Hello all,

I have been working on a Python Dash data analysis web app. It is working on my local machine and on PythonAnywhere, but I have just realised that my current app comes to a complete stop when the number of users exceeds my number of PA web workers, and I am trying to understand what my options are to get around this. (As you can probably tell I am relatively new to coding, self-taught and haven’t considered this issue before!)

The way my site currently works is:

1) My home page is a Dash layout consisting of a welcome message/image, a dcc.input component (see below), and a couple of “Help”, “About” buttons which work with simple Dash callbacks to overlay “Help” and “About” modals when clicked.

2) The user provides an ID for analysis, for example 123456. Currently I allow input into the dcc.input component box, or alternatively into the address bar using dcc.location. In this case the user would enter mydomain.com/123456.

3) My Dash callback checks to see whether this is a returning user and I have already done the processing for this ID this week - if so there will be a pickled finished dictionary already stored on local disk, and the callback reads this file and serves the dictionary content back to the user. This reading/serving seems to be very quick, on the order of 0.1 seconds.